I started watching the Friends boxset and now I want to dress like the 90s

friends 90s style influence

It’s no secret that everyone loves to watch Friends. You can sit down with it and have a marathon, or you can just stick it on in the background. It’s one of those shows that never gets old. It’s also no secret that they had some epic fashion in that tv series. And I’m pretty sure that most of us would love to own Rachel Green’s wardrobe. There are so many good outfits I’m considering making a Pinterest board dedicated to Rachel from Friends’ style. Rachel aside, there was also a fair few outfits of Monica’s that caught my eye and were banked in my brain for future styling needs. 

Even the boys were giving me fashion envy at times. Chandler’s oversized shirts tucked into washed denim, Joey’s never-ending supply of chenille jumpers in the earlier episodes. And yes, even Ross’s leather trousers (though hopefully not in quite the way he wore them!). Those guys just really sum up 90s fashion for me in the perfect way. So today’s post is a nod to the Friends gang and their ever-inspiring sense of style. 

friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence

One of the biggest trends that came out of the 90s, and is now possibly making an even bigger name for itself in the two-thousand-and-tens (is that what we’re calling them?) is mom jeans. And along with straight leg denim, they’re beginning to make themselves a staple in my wardrobe too. Skinny jeans took over everyone’s lives for the longest time. And let’s not kid ourselves, I don’t think they will ever truly leave us behind, but they’re definitely being shimmied over in the wardrobe in favour of a looser fit. Skinnies come out of my wardrobe on a weekly basis, but true comfort is sought in a pair that fit well on the hips and looser on the leg. And how I’m styling them? Well you can thank Rach and Mon for that.

Crop tops, graphic tees, and slouchy sweatshirts. All staples in their wardrobes, and thankfully, already plentiful in mine too. It’s simple, comfortable styling at its finest, with an American sport kind of vibe tying the whole thing together. And personally, I couldn’t think of anything better if I tried. And with H&M coming through with the merch, I can truly pay homage to the show with my latest t-shirt.

friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence

I’m wearing: H&M FRIENDS t-shirt (sold out!, similar), H&M jeans, Superdry hi-tops (old, similar)

friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence friends 90s style influence

So, who thinks it’s time I created a Pinterest board dedicated to Friends fashion? *Insert girl with hand in the air emoji*

Follow me on Instagram & Bloglovin’ to keep up to date!

Leave a comment