Hop On: The Leopard Print Train Has Rolled ‘Round Again

leopard print jeans

It’s been a hot minute since I last logged in to write a blog post. In some ways, writer’s block is to blame for that. It’s less that I ran out of post ideas, and more that I ran out of words to fill the pages of my pre-planned posts. And then I wondered whether I’d left it too late to post these photographs and ramble about these topics, a month after I originally scheduled to. If you’ve found your way here via instagram, then it’s more than likely that you’ve seen some of these images before. And I’m hoping that leopard print is still the print of the moment. Because I shot these pictures in September and I’m kind of getting the feeling I should be documenting snake print instead now that it’s October. Nevertheless, I didn’t want to waste the photographs or post idea, so late and irrelevant or not, here’s my take on leopard print for autumn winter 18.

leopard print jeans leopard print jeans leopard print jeans

Some things never get old. Some things you can never have too much of in your wardrobe. And leopard print definitely ticks both of those boxes. Despite the stigma that surrounds it and the voice in my head telling me I don’t want to go OTT and end up looking like Bet Lynch, leopard print keeps coming back in fashion. Or is it that it just never goes out of fashion? Either way, I’m completely down for it. I think it’s chic and it’s cool, and I could probably wear it forever.

In this day and age, and being lucky enough to have asos at our disposal with the touch of a button on a neat little thing called an app, keeping up to date with the biggest and best trends off the high street is easy as pie.  So when ~unsurprisingly~ leopard print rolled back into our lives for another year running, the only question I had to ask myself was, ‘in which way am I going to incorporate leopard into my wardrobe this time?’.

leopard print jeans leopard print jeans leopard print jeans

Last year’s foray into animal print took the form of boots (see here) and tops (see here), so it was only fair that this time around I took a little gander at leopard print in denim. Honestly, I would’ve loved to be the girl who rocks up in a satin leopard midi skirt, but you know that given the option (and I was) I’d pick jeans over skirts any day. I have to say that usually I like to stay away from printed and coloured denim. If you asked me what my biggest fashion faux pas was, I’d probably recall some bright green jeans I used to own. Looking back now, they definitely could look cool, but I never knew how best to wear them.

I’ve learned from past mistakes, and now here’s the lowdown: pick one printed item, in a subtle colour palette. Currently, I’m loving the darker neutral shades for this particular trend. Pair it with whites, blacks, and other shades of brown to keep it minimal and chic. Avoid too much bling or over-accessorising – a small amount of gold jewellery is enough to tie the look together. And if you’re feeling extra, d e f i n i t e l y wear that silky leopard print skirt. A white t-shirt tucked in and a pair of chunky trainers should be enough to pull the outfit back down to earth.

leopard print jeansleopard print jeans leopard print jeans

My aesthetic for this time of year is definitely centred around browns, creams, and golden tones. My favourite thing to search for on Pinterest for inspiration? ‘golden hour’. No matter what time of year it is, golden hour has to be my favourite time of day. But even more so when the sun is sitting a little lower in the sky during the autumn and winter. That’s where I’m getting vibes from at the moment, and brown leopard jeans just fit like a glove right into this style.

leopard print jeans leopard print jeansleopard print jeans

I’m wearing: stradivarius jeanstop c/o SheIn*,boohoo trainers

follow me on Instagram & Bloglovin’ to keep up to date!

Leave a comment