I Put Down The Denim & Picked Up A Leather

I don’t have a good track record with leather jackets. For some, unexplainable reason, I never feel like I’m able to wear a leather and make it look right. In reality, I’m just as capable as the next man at wearing a leather jacket, yet it’s built up in my head as something I shouldn’t do. I know, crazy right? But ask anyone who knows me if they’d catch me out wearing a polished leather or a beat up vintage denim, and I think we all know what the answer would be. 

*just to clarify, when I say leather jacket ~and I say it many, many times in this post~ I’m actually referring to the faux kind because real ones are well out of my league*

I’ve been eyeing them up for the best part of a year now. I browse stores, adding leathers to the bag as I go, only for them to be removed half an hour later. Clearly I’ve convinced myself that I’ll never get the wear out of a biker jacket to justify actually buying one. Or maybe it’s the lingering regret of puchasing my last leather jacket (a real one, might I add) that still haunts me to this day. Long story short, I spent a hundred pounds on the real deal from ASOS, only to find that it was rather large and didn’t fit how I imagined it would, and basically I wasted a whole one hundred pounds of my hard earned money. And yes, I still hate myself for doing that a couple of years on. Did someone say bitter?

So what exactly is it that changed my mind this time around? Would you believe me if I said that I just woke up one morning and thought to myself, “I’m gonna buy that jacket I’ve been ogling for the past few days”? Because aside from the fact that I’ve experienced that heartbreaking feeling of waiting-too-long-to-buy-something-only-to-be-extremely-disappointed-as-I-watch-someone-else-snap-up-the-only-one-left-in-my-size way too many times, that’s pretty much the reason why I bought it. You’ve just got to bite the bullet sometimes, ya feel? And this time was the perfect time to do it. A fifty percent off price tag, and a jacket adorned with some cool graffiti? You’ve gotta get that. 

So, just because my first jacket of choice will always be a denim doesn’t mean I can’t venture into biker territory every now and then. And this one pretty much tipped me over the edge. Hands up, Superdry, you well and truly got me with this one. 

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1533655999469?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225b69bc4a8be45c06bbcef7db%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

Superdry jacket

Vintage t-shirt

Vans

AJ Morgan sunglasses

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment