I Wore A Dress & Documented It For The Blog

wearing a dressI’ve written posts before about personal style and how you should dress for how you feel on the day {read here}. So today I felt like dressing like a girl. I know, I know, in this day and age, how can you really categorise dressing like a girl or a boy? And what does dressing “like a girl” actually mean? I guess by that phrase I meant, today I felt like putting on a dress. And that, in my style catalogue, is an occasion to document. Dresses are all well and good on other people, but they’re kind of unknown territory for me. I feel so much more comfortable in shorts over a skirt, in a jumpsuit over a dress. You can ask me to explain why but I don’t really know myself. I just don’t normally favour a girly look. And dresses are the kind of things I have to be in the mood to wear.

If you told me to put on a dress, chances are I’d probably rock up in an baggy t-shirt. Hand me the pretty dress and I’d probably pair it with trainers (see below for evidence). It’s an instinct to dress down, and a need to be comfortable in an outfit ~otherwise what’s the point in wearing it? This particular blue floral number spoke to me, however, and I picked this to wear of my own accord *round of applause please, folks*. Needless to say I wore it with trainers, but who’s looking anyway. I’m a fan of the high neck / long sleeves / bare legs combo, and give me these rich blue tones any day. Put all of these factors together and I’m up for the challenge of wearing a dress. So what if I changed out of this outfit and into a pair of oversized 90s dungaree shorts when we got home? ‘A’ for effort, wouldn’t you agree? And as they say, baby steps. Next time you might catch me wearing a dress for longer than an hour.

wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1527347690639?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225b097b414df128e7a10e2561%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

dress c/o SheIn*

Adidas Stan Smith trainers

Zara bag (old)

sunglasses via depop

wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress wearing a dress

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment