How Much Money Would You Fork Out For Fashion?

Question: how much money would you fork out for fashion? Answer: it depends on the item, right? For someone who goes through a lot of clothes {me} and is constantly clearing out their wardrobe to list on ebay {also me} I’d say, limit what you spend per item. As much as I’d like to have a wardrobe full of designer, that’s just not attainable or sustainable (check me out with all the big words today). Plus, who could really live without high street fashion? It’s ever-changing and has something for everyone, no matter what their personal style. And I’m 100% sure I’m not the only one who lives for a good bargain. Bagging that pair of leather sandals you’ve been eyeing up on your wishlist for the past two weeks with a 20% off discount code is the ultimate success – #shoppinggoals right? But when you find an item that catches your eye, turns your head, and steals your heart, it’s times like those you wonder how acceptable it is to splash the cash. Will I be judged for spending crazy money on this? Possibly, yes. But maybe it’s worth it.

A few months ago I decided to browse the Verge Girl website for the very first time in my life. For those of you who’ve been asleep under a rock, Verge Girl has the most aesthetically pleasing clothes {according to my eyes} that the internet has to offer. “Too bad it’s an Australian brand” ~my first thought. “Maybe I can justify paying the £14 shipping if I use this 20% discount code” ~my second thought. But still, was 95 AUD -53.56 GBP- too much to pay for some red denim overalls? Surely I wouldn’t pay that much for them if I saw them in Topshop? But there was something about this playsuit that I couldn’t get off my mind. So I took the leap and used my 20% off code to purchase this somewhat absurdly expensive set of overalls. It was the cheapest I was ever going to get them for, and having scoured the internet for hours first, I couldn’t find any cheaper alternatives that were as nice.

Almost a month later, (I mean, they were coming from Australia so that’s acceptable, right?) a card was popped through my door from Royal Mail. I had another 17 pounds and something pence of taxes to pay before I could actually get my hands on the overalls I was beginning to wonder the worth of. “They’d better fit me after all this” ~my third thought.

So almost £90 later, I’m bringing these red overalls to the blog. And yes, they do fit. Like a dream. But should I have forked out that much money for them in the first place? I’ll let you know at the end of the summer.

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1526920149686?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225b02f5abe7055a2cf3411799%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

Verge Girl overalls

t-shirt c/o Romwe*

Superga espadrilles c/o Farfetch*

Missoma necklace

ASOS sunglasses

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment