Why Vintage Is So Right Now

vintage vibesWe live in a world where it’s acceptable for fashions to make a comeback. Trends we once cringed at the thought of swing back around and we embrace them fully into our lives. We laugh at ourselves for feeling embarrassed about that old picture of your dad in flares, and proceed to post selfies all over the internet wearing these once fashion faux pas. We sit back and watch, waiting for the style community to deem your throwback look “cool” ~bc that’s life’s biggest goal right?

And right now, I’m feeling the vintage vibes coming through in fashion more than ever. Does vintage ever really go out of style, you ask. Well, I guess not. But with the power of Instagram and hundreds of other social platforms coming to the forefront of the lives of pretty much every young person in the world, I’m really seeing the immense love people have for vintage fashion. And that includes myself, no shame.

And there are so many different ways to incorporate “vintage” into your life and your feed (’cause I know that’s all we all really care about, duh). Although I love it, it doesn’t have to be the clothes you wear. I mentioned Alice Catherine in a post earlier this week and imma mention her again. Because she is a walking, talking guidebook on how to be vintage. If you were stuck for ideas. My own personal style doesn’t often touch too much on vintage. It’s a style I love on other people, but I’m not sure it’s something I could ever be. Now, if we’re talking Urban Outfitters 90s throwback fashion, then that’s another story and you can count me in.

vintage vibes vintage vibes vintage vibes vintage vibes

Vintage photo filters are a huge one for me. Especially at the moment, and if you follow me on Instagram then you’ve probably figured that one out already. Wondering how to get the perfect vintage filters? Check my post on how I edit my photos here (self promo I know, but no-one’s gonna promote ya as well as yourself ~don’t you ever forget that). And if you’re not down for fashion or filters, then maybe interiors are your jam. Again, Urban Outfitters is your go-to if they are.

So when you’re looking back at those old family photo albums, just take a moment to appreciate the fashions, appreciate the interiors, and one that I’ve only just realised: appreciate that noughties flash photography vibe.

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1522265288712?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225abbed9d4df1288c2f6d785c%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

Topshop jumper

H&M jeans (similar)

Primark trainers

ASOS sunglasses (similar)

vintage vibes vintage vibes vintage vibes vintage vibes

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment