Kick Flares & Cat Eyes Are The New Faves

wearing kick flares and cat eyesI wanted to write a fluffy little piece about fashion today. Because when you take away all the thoughts and musings that I’ve been posting lately, this page always roots back to fashion. So that’s what I want to bring back a lil bit with this post. My thoughts currently, involve kick flare trousers and cat eye sunglasses, and I wanna shine a light on them today. They’re underrated and I’m gonna tell you why you should be giving them both a lot more credit.

wearing kick flares and cat eyeswearing kick flares and cat eyes

Tbh, I didn’t think I’d see myself in a pair of kick flares any time soon. Especially ones with scalloped hems and giant eyelets. But here we are, and I actually kinda like it. Not that I didn’t appreciate a good ol’ kick flare before, it’s just I always thought I was probably too short to be able to rock a pair. I mean, if you’re gonna wear a pair of trousers that cut off between mid-calf and upper-ankle, then surely you need a set of long pins before you begin? And being a mere 5’3”, long legs aren’t something I was blessed with. I’ve made mistakes with culottes before and I vowed never again. But I’m learning from those mistakes, and for all you shorties out there, I think I’ve found the way to combat the short-girl-in-short-trousers issue. *Seriously*

So get this: it seems wearing a tall ankle boot that sits just under the length of your short trousers creates the illusion that your legs are longer than they are. I don’t know how that makes sense, but just trust me on this gals. Wearing these trews with these boots elongated my legs waaaay more than wearing them with trainers did. And whether that makes logical sense or not, it’s made my love for kick flares grow massively. (Let’s not get too excited but I’m thinking a second go at wearing culottes may be on the horizon.)

wearing kick flares and cat eyes wearing kick flares and cat eyes wearing kick flares and cat eyes

Now let’s move onto my second love right now. The cat eye sunglasses have to be some of the most flattering out there at the moment. Who’s with me? I’m especially into the small, pointy shapes that give off those all-important vintage vibes we all crave to give out. Now I’m somewhat of a sunglasses addict/hoarder (not sure which description fits me better…). I must have at least 20 pairs (who needs 20 pairs of sunglasses?) and I think I’m only just getting started with my collection. They never used to be a priority for me, but recently wherever I internet shop, I always have to check the accessories section to see what sassy glasses they have. Anything vintage, 90s and 00s inspired, or with coloured lenses is my jam rn. And ASOS is pretty much the best place if you’re looking to broaden your sunglasses collection. Just saying.

wearing kick flares and cat eyes

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1519675435055?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225a9469822391f32560b0eabf%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

top c/o Romwe*

trousers c/o Romwe*

Topshop jacket (similar)

Zara boots (old)

Vintage sunglasses

phone case c/o Ideal of Sweden* (20sophie for 20% off)

wearing kick flares and cat eyes wearing kick flares and cat eyes

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment