4 Ways To Make Blogging & Working Full Time A Doddle

For me and I guess many, many others doing this same ol’ thing, blogging is just a hobby slash part-time, very low paid (if at all) job. While it would be nice to say that my full time job is to create outfits, shoot pictures, and put together words to accompany said photos (all the while being paid to do so) that’s unfortunately just a dream. Instead, I spend my days at work (I work in retail…yep that just means I’m a sales assistant but the days are pretty long and relentless btw jus’ sayin’) and my nights tapping away at my keyboard and writing blog posts. If you’re a fellow part-time blogging gal ~or guy~ then I think we can appreciate how much time running a blog actually takes up. A huge amount, if you didn’t catch that —

**Side rant alert**

The amount of times people have said to me, “oh I might do what you do, looks fun”. People, it’s more than just uploading a selfie to instagram with a cute caption. Ugh, there’s way more work that actually goes into it.

**Side rant over, you may continue**

I’m going to share 4 of my tips for working full time and keeping your blog ticking over all at the same time. Hopefully you might find some of these useful, and hopefully you’ll have some more tips that you can share with me. Let the bullet points commence. (Love a good bullet point, don’t you?)

  • so my first tip is to take full advantage of your days off work and drag your pals/family members out to shoot. I usually get one day off in the week and one day off at the weekend so Saturdays are the only days I get with my sister to shoot. If the weather’s nice, get out there and shoot several outfits at once. Yes, getting dressed in the car isn’t my ideal way of spending a Saturday, but as they say, a Saturday well spent brings a week of content. That’s right isn’t it?
  • secondly, timing is everything. And statistics are also everything. Switch your instagram to a business account and check out when the best time is for you to post your pic. Sometimes my followers favour a 6pm scroll as they eat their tea. Other times I’m better off waiting until 9 or 10pm when they’re having the obligatory ‘lie in bed and catch up on the events of social media before I go to bed’ scroll. WordPress and Twitter also have functions where you can check your stats. So how can you use this information to help you out while you’re busy with work? With this kind of insider information, you can schedule all your posts to go live exactly when you need them to without having to sneak your phone under the desk to send that all-important 3pm tweet. I mean really, who’s online at 3pm?

  • we’re all given boring, monotonous tasks at work aren’t we? (Or is that just me?) Well, I use that time to dream up blog post ideas, new outfits I want to shoot, and when I need to post my next Instagram. I’m not saying don’t focus on work while you’re at work, but— who am I kidding, that’s exactly what I’m saying. But sometimes your mind wanders, so it may as well wander off to a useful, content-creating place. Ya see?
  • put together a timetable for yourself. Unless you like creating tables and charts then this one might seem boring, but trust me. Even if it just means you investing in a good detailed planner, this one has hugely helped me out. From the start of the year, I decided on a schedule for my blog so I know (and anyone who wants to read regularly knows) which days of the week posts are going to go up. This stops sporadic posting and means you know when you need to put in the work after actual work to get the posts ready in time. I post on Mondays and Thursdays, and possibly now Sundays too, so for example I know that I can have a free Friday night to rewatch Harry Potter number 7 parts 1 and 2 (‘cause I can’t decide which bit is my fave).

And that’s pretty much all I’ve got for you folks. This was going to be a five parter, but tbh I couldn’t think of a fifth thing myself. Basically, if you love blogging then you’ll make time for it no matter what. But these four little tips should help you on your way to greatness.

(Anyone get that reference?)

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1519068052728?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225a8b25234df128eb06ab27b8%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

H&M cardi

t-shirt c/o Romwe*

H&M jeans

Next glasses (old)

Superdry trainers (old)

Missoma horn necklace

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment