The Importance of Saying No (Or Yes) & A Wicked New Phone Case

the importance of saying no & leopard phone case

As I’ve got a bit older (yes I know I look about 14 but I’m actually 32…just kidding I’m 21…no joke this time), I’ve come to realise more and more the importance of doing what makes you happy in life. It can just be our instinct as humans to make choices and take actions in order to please everyone else but ourselves. And while that might make us seem selfless, we also have to keep in mind that when it comes down to it, you have to look after yourself. Because as my mum always reminds me, no-one’s going to look after you apart from yourself. And even though that might make us sound like we have trust issues, sometimes you have to stop and take a minute to think about what you want.

Do more of what makes you happy is probably my favourite inspirational quote. As someone who has a few struggles with anxiety ~and as many of us do~ this is such an important mantra for me to remind myself of. Worrying about what others may or may not think of your choices is really irrelevant at the end of the day. Whether it’s opting not to go on that night out, choosing to chase that career opportunity you’ve always dreamed of, or deciding to wear that out-there outfit for a simple trip to the supermarket. Whatever it is that you’re doing, people are always going to have an opinion about it. Whether it’s a positive or a negative opinion is something out of your control. But what you can control is choosing not to care too much about it.

the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case

At the start of 2018 I saw so many people setting resolutions and goals for the coming months (myself included, read it here). For some, that involved saying yes to more things. Life is scary, yes. But those who spent the whole of 2017 sheltering themselves from anything and everything new and potentially negative decided it was time to open themselves up to more opportunities. After all, yolo, right?

But for others, 2018 is about the importance of saying no. Because we’re so busy caring about what people might think, we spend our lives giving our everything to everyone. And your life is your life. So you get to live it how you want, and that includes choosing for yourself ~and only yourself~ which experiences you truly want to be a part of. If you don’t go to that party this weekend because you fancy some time alone with yourself and netflix, is that really a bad thing? If you don’t accept that job opening because you’re content with the way things are at the moment, and you don’t want to take a leap into some unnecessary unknown, then where’s the harm in that?

As we pile ourselves up with more and more pressures, responsibilities, and appointments, we forget to take care of ourselves. And what could be more important than that?

the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case

Onto a lighter lil’ note…who’s loving my brand new phone case? Animal print is an abolsute classic, whether that’s a leopard print coat, or a leopard print phone case, it’s never going to go out of style. And while I’m the type of person to change my mind about fashions faster than I can change my actual outfit,  I know that this case is going to be one that I go back to time and time again. Because what’s more chic than a slinky leopard case with gold hardware?

If you often find your phone glued to your hand by default, then it’s seriously worth investing in one of these cases to protect your lil’ baby. Bag yourself some leopard goodness ~amongst other types of goodness of course~ right here. Oh, and you can take a sassy 20% off with “20sophie” at the checkout. (and then you can thank me later.)

I’m wearing:

phone case c/o iDeal of Sweden*

M&S jumper

Missoma talisman ring

the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case the importance of saying no & leopard phone case

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment