Thrifting Gave Me My Start In Fashion

Thrifting a YSL jumper

It’s been a little while since I last went on a thrift shopping spree. Back in the day when I started my blog, thrifting was pretty much my only source of clothing. Still being in college and not having a job meant that buying something from even a high street store was merely a dream to me. Seems strange to think how that never really bothered me, considering the amount of time and dosh I now spend on the internet, scrolling through pages and pages of brand new threads. It was all part of the fun to go from one charity shop to another, always on the hunt but never quite sure what for.

I’m not going to lie to you, a lot of the time all you’d encounter was stuff. And not stuff in the good sense. The kind of stuff that just becomes clutter that no one really wants. But as they say, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, and boy did I find some little gems. (I’m talking a pair of Topshop mom jeans which have only got better with time and are my absolute faves right now.)

But even better than the feeling of finding high street names in a charity shop is the thrill of lifting a designer treasure off the tatty shelves. When you spend a couple of years scouring all the charity shops within a 20 mile radius, you tend to discover which ones have said treasures. For instance, coming across the stores where all the rich people appear to have deposited their unwanted *and barely lived-in* items. I don’t even believe myself when I say that it was through one of my many thrifting sprees that I picked up this YSL jumper. Yup, you read that right – vintage YSL right there. So what if there were a few holes under one of the arms, when you see a vintage (or not vintage) designer piece for less than a fiver, you pick it up. Trust me.

Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper

I think sometimes people can have a stigma with wearing second-hand clothing, but to me that kinda makes it better. Besides the fact it means the price tag is exceptionally low, who knows what the item of clothing’s story might have been before it reached you? And with the popularity of eBay and Depop these days, surely charity shops are just another way of a) getting rid of your unwanted stuff and b) getting the items you really want on the cheap. I don’t know about you but if there’s any way I can save a bit of dollar when purchasing my latest fashion foray then I’m down. So maybe it’s time I got back into the spirit of thrifting and took myself on a little spree. Let me know if you’d be interested in seeing a thrift shop haul up on my youtube channel.

Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1514038075905?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%225a3e64e3dd4edbf48c2e9dee%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

I’m wearing:

YSL jumper (thrifted)

H&M jeans

Adidas trainers (similar)

Kylie hat

Furla bag c/o Farfetch*

Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper Thrifting a YSL jumper

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ so you never miss a beat!

Leave a comment