T-Shirt Dress Of Dreams | A Guide To Thrifting

Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress

You know what my favourite way of shopping used to be? Thrift shopping (or charity shopping if you’re from the UK). I know some people can be grossed out at the idea of living on second hand clothing but in the age of massive sites like eBay and Depop, it’s like second nature to me. Plus, if you’re strapped for cash, it’s the perfect remedy. This t-shirt dress I’m wearing? £3 in a huge charity shop. And would you have guessed that it’s Missguided? Turns out it’s the perfect item to go with my favey little Topshop belt too to create a pretty chic look…if I do say so myself.

My mini thrifting guide:

  1. The cheaper/shabbier looking shops can often be the best ones to find the real treasures
  2. Shop in the mens section – oversized is usually better when it comes to vintage looking pieces
  3. Don’t be afraid to dig deep and get your hands dirty – I once found a YSL jumper!!! (Yes, it had a hole in it, but stitch it up and you’re good to go!)
  4. Think outside the box – you can cut it up and customise it if you think it has potential

Shoutout to these a m a z i n g sunglasses I got from ASOS too. Also super cheap (£12) but not second hand this time. I was inspired by Lissy Roddy for these babies, and how fash-un do they make you look!? I just unboxed the coolest shoes I got in the Next sale (coming to a youtube video near you v soon) and I think there will be some cool shoots coming your way with those paired together.

Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1501358815636?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%22597cedb761d1dd6b7c25ab27%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress Wearing a thrifted t-shirt dress

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash & Bloglovin’ for all the updates!

Wearing: Missguided t-shirt dress (thrifted, similar here), ASOS boots, ASOS sunglasses, Topshop belt

Leave a comment