Bold Flared Sleeves | The Trend You Should Be Wearing Right Now

What I’ve learned from fashion recently is that when in doubt, go for a bold sleeve. They can apparently fix any and every fashion crisis. Whyyy? I hear you cry. Well because they make every outfit look ten times more put together for starters. Imagine a pair of your oldest blue jeans worn with your beat-up old trainers,  and a plain ordinary long sleeve white t-shirt. Classic, but a little bit boring and predictable, am I right? Now imagine that look again but switch up the fitted long sleeve t-shirt with an elegant top like this one, which features the most amazing flared sleeves and has the ability to make you feel like the dancing lady emoji with just one twirl. Doesn’t that outfit sound 5,000 times more interesting now? (If the sound of some crazy ol’ sleeves doesn’t make you jump for joy like it does me then maybe this post isn’t for you, but if you feel the excitement bubbling up inside you then keep scrolling!)

I’ve seen sleeves like these everywhere, in any shop you’ve been in recently you can guarantee they’ve come up with some sort of flared/bell/wide sleeved top, and I’ve just been holding back because I wanted to pick the right one. You know I love me some SheIn, and they seem to be the home of the flared sleeve shirt but this time I headed over to my other love, Next, to get in on the action. I loved the detail around the elbow on this one, and the fact that the sleeves are soo dramatic – I mean, where did my hands go??? Plus, this baby was only £16!!! Can’t say fairer than that – and you know it’s gonna be great quality coming from Next.

Also just gotta give a little shoutout to this dress, the pleather dress of dreams!! This was my original choice to wear to the fashion show with my yellow lace top, but I’m actually glad I ended up saving it because I think it goes even better with the gorgeous flared sleeve top. I’m a huge fan of this open back because it means you can switch up the look a million times by wearing all sorts of different t-shirts underneath. Plus, the lace-up detail and eyelets put this dress right on the map for SS17. Zara know just how to do it, don’t they!

Shop The Post

!function(doc,s,id){ var e, p, cb; if(!doc.getElementById(id)) { e = doc.createElement(s); e.id = id; cb = new Date().getTime().toString(); p = ‘//shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/widget-script.js?cb=1489606998638?cb=’ + cb; e.src = p; doc.body.appendChild(e); } if(typeof window.ss_shopsense === ‘object’){ if(doc.readyState === ‘complete’){ window.ss_shopsense.init(); } } }(document, ‘script’, ‘shopsensewidget-script’); //shopsensewidget.shopstyle.com/#/?options=%7B%22widgetId%22%3A%2258c99c06e7055afd33cc0d58%22%2C%22version%22%3A1%2C%22pid%22%3A%22uid6900-34044630-44%22%2C%22size%22%3A200%2C%22columns%22%3A4%2C%22rows%22%3A1%2C%22url%22%3A%22https%3A%2F%2Fapi.shopstyle.co.uk%2Fapi%2Fv2%22%2C%22iframeHeight%22%3A275%2C%22iframeWidth%22%3A920%7D

Let me know your thoughts on the bell sleeve trend, xx Sophie

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash

Wearing: Next top, Zara dress, Next necklace, Superdry hi-tops

2 thoughts on “Bold Flared Sleeves | The Trend You Should Be Wearing Right Now”

Leave a comment