How To Get The Balance of Light & Dark Colours Right In Your Outfit

NCFupdown-5

I’m braving the cold in today’s blog post and unbelievably for a January, baring my legs! Yes, I was almost completely frozen, and all for the sake of this quilted mini skirt from Hollister. Why? You might ask. Because sometimes you just do what you gotta do for fashion, and because you think this outfit would look so much more blog-worthy without tights.

I wasn’t sure if I really liked this look or not at first – should I just have worn dark colours next to this skirt or is this quirkier look a bit more fun? Let me know your thoughts please – I share my styling tips with you so feel free to leave yours in the comments!

NCFupdown-1 NCFupdown-2 NCFupdown-7 NCFupdown-8

I think usually I would have styled this light coloured skirt with all-black, contrasting pieces, but as soon as I set eyes on this off-white and pink sweatshirt from SheIn, I knew I wanted to pair the two together. There was something about the all-pale colours that appealed to me in this instance. My style tip for the day: if you’re going with a lot of pale colours in the main part of your outfit, switch it up with dark coloured accessories, like my black coat and boots, to add some contrast to your look and stop you from being too washed out!

NCFupdown-3 NCFupdown-6 NCFupdown-4

Would you have gone for all-black with this pale mini skirt, or do you like my quirky combo? xx Sophie

Follow me on Instagram @notcentralfash!

Wearing: Hollister skirt (similar here), SheIn sweatshirt (here), New Look belt (similar here), Next coat (similar here), H&M boots (here)

6 thoughts on “How To Get The Balance of Light & Dark Colours Right In Your Outfit”

Leave a comment