Birchbox at Selfridges

NCFbirchboxselfridges-2

Some may think that I’m just a little bit obsessed with Birchbox at the moment, and they’re probably right. I subscribe to their monthly beauty service and review their boxes every month here on the blog (read this month’s here!). However, it doesn’t end there. Birchbox also put together limited edition boxes for different occasions and times of year – I bought my mum the Birchbox Home box for Mother’s day this month – and now I’m reviewing the Birchbox At Selfridges box! Don’t forget you can sign up for your Birchbox following this link and get £5 to spend in the Birchbox shop straight away! You can thank me later.NCFbirchboxselfridges-1

The Box As A Whole

There were 6 products as usual in the Selfridges box, but the main difference to the monthly boxes was probably the fact that five out of the six products were full size samples. It makes it feel even more worth the money when you know you’ve spent £20 on the box, while just one of the products would cost £16 on its own! There was a good variety of products too – haircare, lips, skincare, and beauty tools. Carry on reading to find out more about them!NCFbirchboxselfridges-3 NCFbirchboxselfridges-5

Eve Lom Kiss Mix

The packaging of this is probably the best part! It looks lovely and quite expensive, and I don’t have any complaints because you know I can’t live without my lip balms. This is a colourless balm which plumps the lips, something which I know a lot of people will love because a big pout is where it’s at right now. This isn’t something I’d go out and spend my own money now that I’ve tried it. It’s way to expensive for what it is and I’m a loyal fan of Maybelline’s Baby Lips!

NCFbirchboxselfridges-6 NCFbirchboxselfridges-7

thisworks Sleep Plus Pillow Spray

I actually got this in March’s Birchbox as well, so I won’t go into loads of detail about my thoughts on this. You can check out the other post here if you want to find out more! NCFbirchboxselfridges-8

Percy & Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Balm

Haircare products are hardly ever winners for me because I find they don’t actually do what they  say they will. When has a straightening gel ever actually made my hair straighter? The answer: never. However, this wonder balm is pretty nice. It claims to smooth, define, soften, add shine, protect against humidity and speed up styling, and I love it for the fact it has a pump. It couldn’t be easier to use, and so far I’ve used it for adding a bit of shape and texture to my natural hair when it’s dry.NCFbirchboxselfridges-9 NCFbirchboxselfridges-10

Lord & Berry 20100 Shiny Crayon Lipstick in Fire

Wow, this thing is pigmented. And so creamy. It’s a gorgeous crayon in a very bold colour, goes on very easily, and lasts well too. I even found it matched the shade of a new sweatshirt I bought perfectly. There will be a blog post to follow on that.NCFbirchboxselfridges-11

Blink Brow Bar Eyebrow Pencil

Ok so I’m lucky and have fairly full brows naturally, so eyebrow products have never interested me. That changed slightly when I got a Model Co. brow gel in this month’s Birchbox (see it here) and I actually quite liked it. I don’t think I’ll really use the pencil and this shade is far too light for someone with black eyebrows like me, but the spooley will always come in handy.

NCFbirchboxselfridges-4

Rituals Ginkgo’s Secret Caring Hand Balm

Creams and lotions never used to interest me in the slightest, that is until I started working in retail. When I’m standing on my feet for 8 hours a day, I’m really glad to come home to a drawer full of creams I haven’t got round to using before. Yes this is a hand balm, but hands, feet – what’s the difference?

Have you tried any of these products before, and if so, what are your thoughts? Let me know if you use this link to sign up to your own Birchbox too, and what you spend your instant £5 on in the shop! xx Sophie

Find me on:  Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Facebook

1 thought on “Birchbox at Selfridges”

Leave a comment