My bareMinerals Experience

DSC_0013For my birthday, I picked out a couple of products from bareMinerals to try out for the first time. One of those was the Bareskin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation in the colour Bare Linen. I was excited to try this because I’m all about that natural look – nothing cakey and only light coverage – and I thought that this would probably be the best foundation for me. The first day I wore it I was really pleased. It was easy to put on with my Real Techniques buffing brush, seemed to be a good colour match and felt smooth, soft, and definitely not tacky to touch. However, on the second day I noticed dry patchy areas of skin start to develop on my cheek, forehead, and to the side of my mouth. This happened on the third day too, with flaky, dry patches appearing. These weren’t dry areas I’d had before either; they seemed to only come up with the foundation, and after taking the make up off on the third day my skin felt sore and was more red than usual the next day. I was really disappointed in the foundation because I’d had such high hopes for it (plus, it’s not exactly cheap, although I did manage to get it in the sale on Look Fantastic after christmas!). I’ve retired the foundation to my drawer for now to give my skin a rest from it and see if the dry patches now clear up without it. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get wear out of it again, though -maybe in the summer when my skin won’t be so dry. I also considered buying the bareMinerals Prime Time primer to wear underneath the foundation, as I read someone’s review who said that the foundation was no good for her dry skin unless she wore it with the primer under, but will it be worth paying another £16 for? If you’ve tried bareMinerals serum foundation and had a similar experience to me, or have some good tips, please leave them in the comments! Apart from the dry patches, I was impressed with product, and really want some more wear out of it!

For now, I’m trying out a completely different foundation from Bourjois, which I’ll post a lil’ review on soon! Let me know your thoughts down below please 🙂 xx Sophie

Find me on:  Twitter | Facebook | Bloglovin’ | Instagram

2 thoughts on “My bareMinerals Experience”

Leave a comment