Image:NailsNailsNails

Since I’m so into doing my own nails and experimenting with different nail art designs, I thought it would be a good idea to create a blog post on just a few of my favourite designs that I’ve done in the past. The designs are a mixture of ones which I have copied directly out of books and magazines, and designs which I have thought of myself. I’m always up for trying out new nail arts (some of which don’t turn out so well!) and there’s rarely a day where I’m not wearing any nail polish at all.

IMG_1090
When I did these nails, I had found a new way of applying the polish called sponging, which meant that it would dry quickly as the layer of paint was so thin. I also used the gradient method, which uses two different colours, and blends them together.

IMG_1168
I used my “Fearne” set of nail polishes for this look, and then added a simple black stripe to create another dimension.

IMG_1325
After reading the “WAH Nails” book, I really wanted to get my nails done by a WAH professional, but unfortunately, there wasn’t a WAH salon close by. Instead, I decided to do my own nails in a WAH fashion. In the book, this design is called “Flash”.

IMG_1351
IMG_1353
These two designs were inspired by an article in Company Magazine, where the model was sporting different designs in pale pink and bright red. One of the designs was simply the pink hearts on a red background, which I copied directly. The other design in the article was a pink and red gradient, which again, I copied, but added a beautiful glitter polish over the top. I really love these two designs and colours together.

Any suggestions for new nail art?

Sophie.

Leave a comment